NANB 2017 Award Recipients

30 May 2017

Award of Merit: Nursing Practice

This year’s Award of Merit: Nursing Practice goes to Rejeanne (RJ) Power, RN, Miramichi. For over 10 years, RJ has been a charge nurse at Mount Saint Joseph Nursing Home. She is in charge of a 36-bed nursing unit which includes a 15 bed Special Needs Unit. This Special Needs Unit is designated for those residents who are under 60 years of age who have severe, chronic physical, mental, and emotional disabilities, and who cannot be managed in the community. There are only two such units in the province of New Brunswick.

In addition, Mount Saint Joseph was asked to participate in a pan-Canadian project, looking at the appropriate use of anti-psychotic medication. This project is a collaborative initiative between the New Brunswick Association of Nursing Homes and the Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement.  RJ was one of two leads for this initiative and demonstrated leadership in putting a multi-disciplinary team together, as well as developing and providing several education sessions for all staff. Through RJ’s leadership, it is expected that the way resident-focused care is provided throughout the facility, will be transformed.

Award of Merit: Administration

Darline Cogswell, RN, Oromocto, is presented with the Award of Merit: Administration. Darline works in the role of Facility Manager and ER Nurse Manager at the Oromocto Public Hospital.  Darline’s advocacy role extends a number of organizations including NBNU, WorkSafe NB, Oromocto Hospital Foundation and in many volunteer capacities with NANB.

 A successful administrator, Darline has: added LPNs to the nursing staff at Oromocto Public Hospital; piloted projects on assessing, treating and discharging non-urgent patients at multiple hospitals; organized ED managers from both health authorities to form an NANB Interest Group; and the list of accomplishments goes on.

Award of Merit: Research

Recipient of this year’s Award of Merit: Research is Dr. Suzanne Dupuis-Blanchard, RN, Dieppe, is an Associate Professor with the Faculty of Nursing and Director of the Centre for Aging Research at the Université de Moncton.

In 2014, Suzanne became a research associate with the University of New Brunswick and attained national recognition when she was named research chair for the Consortium national de la formation en santé Université de Moncton Research Chair, in Population Aging. More recently, Suzanne was named co-chair of the New Brunswick government’s Council on Aging with the objective of developing a provincial strategy on aging for the province of New Brunswick. Having received over $800,000 in grants researching such themes as wellness, dementia, long-term care, the age-friendly municipality concept, services in French to an aging population, care for seniors losing their independence and keeping them in their own home and the social involvement of seniors.

Life Membership Award

Lynn Lawson, RN, Saint John, is this year’s recipient of NANB Life Membership Award. Lynn’s career has spanned 46 years, beginning at the Saint John General Hospital School of Nursing, to certification in occupational health nursing becoming skilled in the delivery of critical incidence stress debriefing, and developed and facilitated many health and wellness initiatives.

She began her career in obstetrics and neonatal intensive care before transitioning into the community for twenty years with the Victorian Order of Nurses. Lynn went on to complete her Bachelor of Nursing and a Master of Education in Guidance and Counseling. Soon after, Lynn opened an independent nursing counseling practice focused on bereavement support. Lynn also wrote a children's book on grief and loss and organized a conference on sudden loss, for health care workers. While acting as the Executive Director of a non-profit organization, Lynn became very involved in her community serving on many boards including: Hospice of Greater Saint John; the Alzheimer's Society; the Canadian Mental Health Association; the YMCA; Big Brothers/Big Sisters; the VON; and became the first female president of the Kiwanis Club of Saint John.

As Nurse Manager and Wellness Coordinator at the Loch Lomond Villa, she was featured in an article by the Telegraph Journal, highlighting her contribution to health and wellness in the older population.  Lynn returned to the care of this demographic as a foot care clinician and instructor, as well as an educator of personal support workers.

Lynn’s career path truly demonstrates the diversity of nursing and the opportunities we as nurses have to impact others

Honorary Membership Award

A rare recognition, this year’s Honorary Membership Award goes to Gary Hughes, Curator of History and Technology at the New Brunswick Museum, Saint John.

The purpose of an NANB Honorary Membership is to recognize the valuable assistance to the nursing profession by a member of the public, who has performed meritorious services on behalf of registered nurses and Nursing.

As the largest and longest running exhibit at the NB Museum, Gary Hughes was integral to bringing the Nursing History Exhibit to reality. Originally housed at the NANB office in Fredericton, under the direction of Dr. Arlee Hoyt McGee, the Nursing Resource Centre was established in 1992 and turned over to Gary and his team in 2006.

Gary’s vision for the potential of the Nursing Collection came to fruition with the development of two Nursing history exhibitions, which were showcased during the NANB Centennial Celebrations in 2016.

“As an RN, and President of the NANB, witnessing this extraordinary interpretation of the nursing profession and its evolution over the years is remarkable,” says Kinney. “We are so grateful to the NB Museum for continuing Arlee’s legacy and bringing this exhibit to life during our Centennial, for nurses, patients, families and friends to enjoy.”